“in solitude, where we are least alone.”

The title is taken from one of the works of Lord Byron, an 16th century Brittish writer.
Before you think I’m all snooty and richy-bitchy for reading contemporary Brittish literature, I will explain that this is not the case. I actually read the quote from the novel Abraham Lincoln : Vampire Hunter, a fictional biography about Abe Lincoln that claims he was a vampire hunter.
In the story, his first love was bitten by a vampire. I think her name was Mary Todd. And on her grave, he wrote those words.
I think it is so hauntingly beautiful, and there’s a little truth to it. That in loneliness and solitude, there are so many in numbers. There are so many people feeling exactly the same way.

So, the obvious question…
Why the dark and creepy post, Ushie?

I wont go into the gory details, but let’s just say that a lot has happened during these months in between blog posts. And what i though is, turns out never was and never will be.

Its safe to say that I am completely flabbergasted and surprised. Like an emotional earthquake if you will.

And as long as everything is spinning out of control, I’m going to shut my eyes and just let it go, and let the pieces fall where they may.
I do, however, have my sights fixed on something that I’ve wanted all along. NYC.
I’ve always dreamed of living there. The last time I went there, in 2008, was a life-changing experience. To say that it altered my life goals and made me a complete person, would be a gross understatement.

I’ll never forget it. The icy cold wind, the blue seating on the bus, that homemade cheese pizza with that awful garlic spread, and the sliding metal doors on the subway. Oh, the subway…

And for the record, the last time something this devastating had happened, I found myself a distraction that was fail-proof: another guy. The nicest most kindest guy I could find. He was so warm, he was like the sun. But as we all know, that did not end up well. Quoting one of Miley Cyrus’ songs, “it burned too hot to survive.”
So I think this time around, this is the best course of action. A more constructive and prestigious distraction.
NYC, here I come.

Leave a Reply

